18 Entrants Will Compete in the 2011 International Chronometry Contest

Chronometry Contest

Fourteen watchmaking companies and four schools will participate in the 2011 International Chronometry Contest. The winners will be announced on October 20 at Château des Monts – Horological Museum of Le Locle. Find complete details and a list of entrants inside.

The first officially-sanctioned timekeeping competition in 37 years was held in 2009 when 16 timepieces were entered in a single category, each competing against the others. For 2011, the competition has been modified with the contestants divided into three groups: traditional movements, tourbillons, and watchmaking schools.

During the competition, the timepieces are subjected to a variety of tests that are based on international standards, and that are much more rigorous than the well-known Official Swiss Control of Chronometers (COSC) tests. Measurements will be carried out in officially-certified laboratories in Besançon, Bienne and Le Locle. In addition to timekeeping accuracy measurements, the watches will undergo magnetism and shock tests reproducing conditions of everyday use.

The results of the competition are based strictly on objective criteria, namely performance results during the tests. The competition is billed as a showcase for modern mechanical watchmaking, and its partners are the Swiss Society of Chronometry, the Observatory of Besançon, the COSC, and the Haute-Ecole ARC Ingénierie.

The Competition’s Committee of Honor is chaired by the astronaut and professor Claude Nicollier. Jean-Marc Triscone, Dean of the Faculty of Science at the University of Geneva presides over an international jury guaranteeing the scientific and legal regularity of the competition. The Association of the Competition is under the supervision of the Horological Museum of Le Locle.

2011 Entries

Category “Companies, Traditional”

Artisan d’Horlogerie d’Art Voutilainen, Môtiers – Voutilainen, Cal. 28

Chopard & Cie, Meyrin – Chopard L.U.C. “1937”, Cal. 1.010

MHVJ, Le Sentier – MHVJ Chrono T1000, Cal. 2005.100

Mido S.A., Swatch Group, Le Locle – Mido Baroncelli Gent Chronometer, Cal. 2836-2

Montres Journe S.A., Genève – F.P.Journe Chronomètre Souverain, Cal. 1304

Technotime S.A., Les Brenets – Technotime, Cal. TT 738.00

Tissot S.A., Swatch Group, Le Locle – Tissot Le Locle, Cal. 2824-2


Category “Companies, Tourbillon”

Chopard Manufacture SA, Fleurier – Chopard L.U.C “Tourbillon Tech Twist All Black”, Cal. L.U.C. 4TBSTSI

Frederique Constant S.A., Plan-les-Ouates – Frederique Constant Tourbillon Manufacture Silicium, Cal. FC-980

Greubel Forsey S.A., La Chaux-de-Fonds – Greubel Forsey Double Tourbillon Technique, Cal. GF02s

Les Ateliers L.Leroy SAS, Besançon – Osmior Régulateur automatique N°1785, Cal. L.512

MHVJ, Le Sentier – MHVJ Chrono T1500, Cal. 2005.150

Montres Journe S.A., Genève, F.P.Journe Tourbillon Souverain, Cal. 1403

Technotime S.A., Les Brenets, Technotime Tourbillon, Cal. TT 791.50


Category “Schools”

(Note: All schools will enter Cal. ETA 6498)

Marlène Clément, Bois d’Amont (F), ETVJ

Micael Jair da Silva Moreira (CH), CIFOM

Geoffrey Meylan, La Sarraz (CH), ETVJ

Derek Hadfield, Columbia (USA), NAWCC

No Responses to “18 Entrants Will Compete in the 2011 International Chronometry Contest”

Show all responses
Leave a Reply