The Shortlisted Watches in This Year’s Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève

The 2020 edition of the Grand Prix d’Horologerie de Geneve (GPHG) has announced the shortlisted (pre-selected) watches that will be competing for an award in one of the 14 categories (as well as for the “Aiguille d’Or” award, which recognizes the overall best watch among all the entrants). Here is the full list:

CategoryBrand and Modell
Men’s Complications
De Bethune, DB28XP Tourbillon
Girard-Perregaux, Quasar Light
Greubel Forsey, Hand Made 1
MB&F, HM10 Bulldog Ti
Hermés, Slim d’Hermés GMT
Bovet 1822, Récital 27
Men’sDe Bethune, DB28XP Starry Sky
Voutilainen, 28SC
Bulgari, Octo Finissimo S Blue Dial
Petermann Bédat, Dead Beat Second
Laurent Ferrier, Classic Origin Green
Romain Gauthier, Insight Micro-Rotor Squelette Manufacture-Only Carbonium Edition
JewelryBulgari, Serpenti Misteriosi Intrecciati
Chopard, Magari
Dior Montres, Dior Grand Soir Reine des Abeilles
Piaget, Limelight Gala High Jewellery Black Opal
Van Cleef & Arpels, Frivole Secrete Watch
Jacob & Co, The Mystery Tourbillon Full Ruby
IconicIWC Schaffhausen, Portugieser Chronograph
Girard-Perregaux, Laureato Infinity Edition 42 mm
Piaget, Altiplano Origin Automatic
Bulgari, Aluminium Chronograph
Breitling, Chronomat BO1 42
Seiko, Professional Diver’s 1000m
Ladies’Piaget, Limelight Gala Precious Sapphire Gradient
Chanel, Mademoiselle Prive Bouton perle
Hermès, Arceau Petite Lune Sprinkling of Diamonds and Sapphires
Dior, Montres Grand Bal Ruban
Bovet, 1822 Miss Audrey
Beauregard, Lili
Ladies’ ComplicationsBulgari, Serpenti Seduttori Tourbillon
Charles Girardier, Tourbillon Signature Mysterieuse – fleur de sel
Jacob & Co, Astronomia Fleurs de Jardin Rainbow
Maurice Lacroix, Masterpiece Embrace
Piaget, Altiplano Tourbillon
Van Cleef, Lady Arpels Ballerine Musicale Diamant
ChronometryChronometrie Ferdinand Berthoud, FB2 RE.2
H. Moser & Cie, Endeavour Cylindrical Tourbillon H. Moser x MB&F
Bernhard Lederer, Central Impulse Chronometer
Armin Strom, Gravity Equal Force Stainless Steel
Brivet-Naudot, Eccentricity
Theo Auffret, Tourbillon in Paris
Calendar & AstronomyVacheron Constantin, Overseas Perpetual Calendar Ultra-Thin Skeleton
Parmigiani Fleurier, Hiri Perpetual Calendar
Sarpaneva Watches, Lunations Harvest Moon
Chopard, L.U.C Perpetual Twin
IWC Schaffhausen, Portugieser Yacht Club Moon & Tide
Behrens, Apolar
Mechanical ExceptionMB&F, Legacy Machine Thunderdome
Piaget, Altiplano Ultimate Concept
Armin Strom, Minute Repeater Resonance
Ressence, Type A2
Bovet 1822, Recital 26 Braintorm Chapter 2
Jacob & Co, Bugatti Chiron
H. Moser & Cie, Streamliner Flyback Chronograph Automatic
Kurono Tokyo By Hajime Asaoka, Kurono Chronograph 1
Atelier de Chronometrie, Split-Seconds Chronograph
Parmigiani Fleurier, Tondagraph GT Steel Black
Louis Moinet, Memoris Superlight
Breitling, Top Time Limited Edition
Grand Seiko, 9RA5 Professional Diver’s 600m
Doxa, SUB 300 Carbon Aqua Lung US Divers
Ulysse Nardin, Diver X Cape Horn
Breitling, Superocean 48 Boutique Automatic Edition
Ming, Ming 18.01 H41
Reservoir, Hydrosphere Bronze x Revolution “The Maldives Edition”
Artistic CraftsAndersen Geneve, Jumping Hours 40th Anniversary
Bovet 1822, Amadeo Tourbillon Squelette 7 Jours
Dior Montres, Dior Grand Bal Plume
Hermes, Arceau Into The Canadian Wild
Jacob & Co, Astronomia Sky Phoenix
Van Cleef & Arpels, Lady Arpels Soleil Feerique
“Petite Aiguille”Bell & Ross, BR 05 Skeleton
Breitling, Superocean Heritage ’57 Limited Edition II
Habring2, Chrono Felix Panda
IWC Schaffhausen, Portugieser Automatic 40
Sarpaneva Watches, Sarpaneva x Moomin
Trilobe, Secret
ChallengeBehrens, Rotary
Breitling, Endurance Pro
Kurono Tokyo by Hajime Asaoka, Kurono Anniversary Green ‘森:Mori’
Louis Erard, Le Regulateur Louis Erard X Alain Silberstein
Ming, Ming 27.01 Ultra Thin
Tudor, Black Bay Fifty-Eight

The five participating brands with the most shortlists are: Breitling (5), Piaget (5), Bulgari (4), Jacob & Co. (4), Bovet (4).

The 84 nominated timepieces will continue the competition to win one of the 18 prizes, including the prestigious “Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix.

For this round, a jury of 30 members drawn from the Academy, will soon be constituted and meet behind closed doors in Geneva. During this notary-supervised encounter, they will physically evaluate each of the nominated watches and cast a final vote by secret ballot. All Academy members will also take part in the final vote online.

The names of the winners will be announced on Thursday November 12, 2020, at the 20th GPHG awards ceremony. An update will be provided in October regarding detailed arrangements for the awards ceremony, in accordance with the prevailing public health measures.

For more information, follow this link here.

No Responses to “The Shortlisted Watches in This Year’s Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève”

Show all responses
  1. Your link to the Louis Erard watch (challenge category) goes to the KURONO TOKYO watch and not the right watch.

    • Corey Vlahos

      Hi Melanie,
      thank you for letting us know. The link has been updated.

Leave a Reply