The WatchStars Shortlist: Here Are the Finalists for the 2016-2017 Awards

Last September, we announced all of the award-nominated watches for the 2016-2017 WatchStars Awards. With the first round of judging now completed, we present the shortlist in all five award categories. The winners will receive their awards at an event during Baselworld 2017.

Watchstars was created by Ebner Publishing Group, parent company of WatchTime and its German sister publications, Chronos and Uhren Magazin. Significantly, watch manufacturers are not permitted to submit watches to the competition: only members of the judging panel, which this year grew to more than 80 members, can nominate and vote on the watches. All watches are eligible, regardless of the brand, its size, and its country of origin. The winning watches are chosen by an independent panel of international experts, including WatchTime editors Joe Thompson, Norma Buchanan, Mark Bernardo, and Roger Ruegger; trophies are presented to the winners — which last year included watches from Omega, MB&F, A. Lange & Söhne, and Tudor — by WatchStars Executive Thomas Wanka.

Here is the shortlist, divided into categories, along with last year’s category-winning watch:

A. Lange & Söhne Richard Lange Jumping Seconds
Breguet Classique
Cartier Drive de Cartier
Glashütte Original Senator Excellence
Hermès Slim d’Hermès Émail Grand Feu
Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso Tribute Duoface
Oris Carl Brashear Limited Edition
Rolex Oyster Perpetual Air-King
Seiko Grand Seiko Spring Drive 8 Day Power Reserve
Vacheron Constantin Overseas Ultra-Thin
Last year’s winner: Omega Globemaster

Omega Globemaster Annual Calendar

A. Lange & Söhne Datograph Perpetual Tourbillon
Audemars Piguet Royal Oak Concept Supersonnerie
Bulgari Octo Finissimo Minute Repeater
Chanel Monsieur
Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso Tribute Gyrotourbillon
Panerai Radiomir 1940 Minute Repeater Carillon Tourbillon
Patek Philippe Worldtimer Chronograph
TAG Heuer Carrera Calibre Heuer 02 Tourbillon C.O.S.C.
Ulysse Nardin Marine Tourbillon Grand Deck
Urwerk EMC Time Hunter
Last year’s winner: A. Lange & Sohne Zeitwerk Minute Repeater

A lange & Sohne Zeitwerk Minute Repeater

Cartier Drive de Cartier
De Bethune DB25 World Traveller
Hermès Slim d’Hermès Émail Grand Feu
Hublot Berluti Scritto
MB&F LM1 Silberstein
MeisterSinger Circularis Automatic Sunburst Blue
Nomos Glashütte Tetra neomatik
Oris Carl Brashear Limited Edition
Romain Jerome Batman-DNA Gotham City
Urwerk EMC Time Hunter
Last year’s winner: MB&F Legacy Machine

MB&F Legacy Machine 101

A. Lange & Söhne Lange 1
Audemars Piguet Royal Oak Extra-thin
Breitling Navitimer 01 (46 mm)
IWC Big Pilot’s Heritage Watch 48
Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso Classic Large
Omega Speedmaster Moonwatch Professional
Patek Philippe Nautilus
Rolex Oyster Perpetual Cosmograph Daytona
Vacheron Constantin Reference 57260
Zenith Elite 6150
Last year’s winner: Omega Speedmaster Professional Moonwatch

Omega Speedmaster Professional MoonWatch

Angelus U30 Tourbillon Rattrapante
Arnold & Son Constant Force Tourbillon
Bulgari Octo Finissimo Minute Repeater
Czapek Quai des Bergues – N° 33 BIS Fleur de lys
H. Moser & Cie Swiss Alp Watch
Laurent Ferrier Galet Square Boréal
Ressence Type 5 BB
Rolex Oyster Perpetual Air-King
Seiko Prospex Marinemaster GPS Solar Dual Time
TAG Heuer Connected Watch
Last year’s winner: Tudor North Flag

No Responses to “The WatchStars Shortlist: Here Are the Finalists for the 2016-2017 Awards”

Show all responses
Leave a Reply